Oops

Helen is not and never was Agamemnon’s wife.  It was Meneleus, his brother, who started the war for Helen.  I had gotten the two brothers confused and I am sorry for that.

Since Menelaus is the one who has been wronged by the Trojans I really am curious as to why Agamemnon is so persistent on being in charge.  Did he already have a bone to pick with the Trojans?  Does he just want to be some glorious war hero?  Well, I took to the internet to see if I could find the answer.

I came up empty.

So, it’s time to put my English degree to use and perhaps use some context clues to figure this one out for myself.  Aggy is indeed an extremely proud dude and I wonder if there was (historically) a previous conflict between the Argives and the Trojans and perhaps this was an excuse to go to war… for nine years.  My problem is that I am simply not that educated on the war itself and it would probably help to be, so if anyone should have some input, I would really love to hear it and become educated.

Leave a Reply

