Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I have to admit, I was drawn in by the book’s cover, and then the summary pulled me right in.  It sounded like a really cool insight into the type of person that I was in college, though I didn’t really write or read fanfiction.  I did, however, spend a lot of time watching anime and reading manga.  I was an absolute shut-in and this book seemed like an interesting nostalgia trip about a lifestyle that you didn’t really get to read about very much.

In truth, the book was just okay.  It was a really fast read and I felt a little nostalgic about the whole fan-fic premise, but at the same time, I think the book’s feeling was lost on me because I’ve already finished college, and I have a solid relationship with all my family, and I no longer feel the angst over the things the main character Cath feels throughout the book.  There was a lot of good humor in it and there was definitely a sweetness to the way Rowell writes the characters.  I think this would be a great book to read for a young person just starting out in college.

I will say, I was somewhat bothered by the end to Nick’s little story.  Like, he disappears for a while and suddenly his whole life is ruined by Cath.  Like… why did he lost his TA job and why was that Cath’s fault?  I was also bothered by his sudden turn.  It came kind of out of nowhere and he doesn’t seem at all bothered by the loss of that friendship and it weirds me out.  I suppose it is the idea that for a long time he’s a good guy and all of the sudden he’s an asshole because he can’t write his own story.  I guess it just didn’t feel like a very real transition to me.  Or something, I don’t really know.

Anyway.  I will probably read her Elearnor and Park novel because I have it on my nook and I still found Rowell’s writing style to be pretty sweet and easy, in spite of my being kind of a sourpuss about this particular book.

Leave a Reply

