So we’ve come to this…

“Death cut him short.  The end closed around him.

Flying free of his limbs

his soul went winging down to the House of Death,

wailing his fat, leaving his manhood far behind,

his young and supple strength.  But brilliant Achilles

taunted Hector’s body, dead as he was, “Die, die!

For my own death, I’ll meet it freely–whenever Zeus

and the other deathless gods would like to bring it on!”

The Iliad, Book 22: The Death of Hector, Lines 425-432

I truly hate that I’m at a point in my English-reading life where I read the phrase, “leaving his manhood” and legitimately wonder whether it refers to the Hector’s soul just leaving the state of being alive, or leaving his penis behind.

Leave a Reply

